We’ve Begun

Our first week of homeschool in a nutshell.

Day 1: Faaaannnnntastic! Everyone was excited, we finished more than I ever imagined. Firefly whined a bit here and there but it truly was a dream day of homeschooling. I may never see the likes of it ever again.

Day 2: Love Bug spirals into a bottomless pit of toddler wants and toddler needs. Firefly, the Queen Bee and I can’t even get through one work box by 1:00. Then Love Bug sleeps and we are super productive on our seat work and even do fun stuff like make Shrinky Dinks. Firefly whines and fools around a lot, even during the fun stuff and some things are not really finished but, as I am learning, some times you just have to move on.

The Queen Bee happily completes all of her fun arts and crafts project, plus a counting exercise and all the stuff that I had prepared for Firefly (I made copies for her just in case). Why did I decide to put this child in preschool outside the home? I wonder.

Day 3: We experience some major public school to homeschool adjustment issues, in that Java Mom, whom I normally speak to on the phone multiple times per day, informs me that she is in crisis because she can’t call me any time because “You might be doing school.”  I talk her down off the ledge and return my focus to my children. I make a mental note to self to take her out for drinks when she has recovered from surgery.  Some one-on-one time will surely help her feel less neglected.

Day 4: We go to Park Day in the morning with our local homeschool group and 5,000 other kids from the community, including two daycare buses, as public school has not yet started where we live.

Firefly spends the afternoon whining and complaining about having to do school work, even the fun stuff.  The Queen Bee completes all her preschool workboxes, plus several of the activities I had for Firefly. For the love of bees, how am I going to keep that child supplied in activities next week? She went through everything I had prepared that was supposed to last several weeks.

I have a smack-my-own-self-in-the-forehead moment when I add up all of Firefly’s cumulative resistance this week and realize it is absolutely too much for Firefly and I need to BACK OFF.  He mostly loves the Five in a Row stuff and always, always loves to be read to. Getting out for nature walks and field trips makes him happy and sparks his interest in things.  And he loves to listen to books on his ipod or on c.d.’s

So that, my dear readers, is what we will do next week. And that is it.  We will put on hold the wonderful math curriculum, the fabulous reading and handwriting curriculums, and even the art curriculum.  We will not add, as I had previously hoped, the science and history curriculum, although we may do some reading about dinosaurs and maybe go to a local museum with a dinosaur exhibit.

Except for the Five in a Row, that sounds darn near unschooly-like. Hmmm. I never fancied myself an unschooler. Maybe I should rethink that. At any rate, a revised and toned down plan is what seems right for Firefly, at least for now. I want him to love learning, to learn at his own pace. I know there will be times I will have to push him, or at the very least, nudge, but this is not one of them.  That much I know.

This entry was posted in homeschooling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to We’ve Begun

  1. Despite the challenges, it sounds like you learned a lot and are off to a good start. Hang in there!

  2. Ahhh… the plans… how they sit on the pages of the lesson planner, mocking you. 🙂
    I’m glad you’re the kind of mom who observes and adjusts according to your child’s needs. It’s lovely to see. Gold star for you.

    There is PLENTY of time to get it all into their little punkin’ heads. It doesn’t all have to be done rightthisverysecond … is what I keep telling myself 🙂
    ~h

  3. You sound like one very smart mama! Good job for knowing when to back off!

  4. Joelle says:

    Congtrats on your first week gone well. I am sure you will have a great year.

  5. Nichole says:

    Congratulations on a mostly lovely first week! We’re doing “Five in a Row,” too. I’d planned to take a pretty laid-back approach to kindergarten, but my daughter is really eager to do worksheets. So that’s what we’ve been doing!

  6. JavaMom says:

    Yes, I’m definitely having a harder time than I expected adjusting to your new schedule, especially with my kids not yet back in school! But I promise not to throw any tantrums. When our schedules are more in synch, it will feel a little more “normal” to me. I’m still on “summer” schedule and you are on “Fall.”

    The JavaFamily is very proud of you for getting through your first week!

  7. Thanks for all the wonderful comments! InstinctiveMom, my husband and I both had a good laugh about the lesson plans “mocking you”. So true, so true.

  8. Pingback: F.I.A.R. The Glorious Flight | Creekside Learning

Leave a Reply

