Patience is a Virtue. Do they sell that on the Internet?

I’m not really a patient person.  In fact I have very little patience, as my husband will tell you.  My father, who was awesome in the parenting department, was also a very impatient person.  It’s a family joke that he’d arrive at a restaurant and immediately ask the waitress for some bread and the check.

Probably my absolute biggest struggle as a parent, other than dealing with the bodily fluids that spew forth from my children on a daily basis, is a quest to increase my level of patience with them.  In fact, when I announced that I wanted to homeschool to my family and closest friends, they each in turn expressed concern for my sanity.  In a kind way, mind you.  They said it with love.  I myself was concerned. For myself.  But I figured it’s like this:  When it comes to homeschooling, impatience is not an option for me.  Ditto yelling.  Likewise any kind of negative talk to my kids.

Now, I don’t always succeed with that philosophy but for the most part, I’ve been able to catch myself when we are engaged in learning.  If I feel myself getting frustrated with Firefly’s slow pace or his resistance to an activity, I just back off, take a break, switch gears.  I’m working on doing that when the kids are fighting like the ancient Mongolians, too, but that one is a slower process for me.

As friends and acquaintances learn that we are homeschooling, I’ve frequently gotten responses like, “I could never do that. You are so patient.”  Got one of those today and later I thought, “No, I’m not. I’m not patient.  Not at all.”  But it does seem to me that I am forever trying to be.  Because, homeschooling aside, my children deserve my patience.

It does not come naturally to me. Not in the least. But I’m going to keep trying, even if it takes ’til they’re grown.  Or even longer.

This entry was posted in homeschooling, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Patience is a Virtue. Do they sell that on the Internet?

  1. ME TOO! I am not patient in the slightest, and I have to CONSTANTLY remind myself to chill out when I’m working with my son. For crying out loud, he’s a preschooler! Hse’s supposed to be slow at this stuff!! Gah! But yet that stereotype continues…that we’re all patient saints. Bwahahahahaha!!!

  2. Deb says:

    I don’t know what you are talking about. My children come down the stairs, call me Mother Darling, and are anxious to do their schoolwork first thing in the morning. They never fight or yell or make me want to stab myself in the eye with a shrimp fork. I have certainly never spent an entire day arguing with my son over the proper way to make the number 6. I don’t know of this “frustration” or “impatience” you speak of.

    HA!

  3. hahahaha, shrimp fork! Love it! Thanks for your comments, Deb and Tiffany. 🙂

  4. Shannon says:

    I am pretty impatient too, but I have to give myself credit and say I have come a long, long way. I struggle the most when G is whining/crying about something STUPID. When I limit the Wii (daily) he gets upset and dramatic and wails “I can’t do ANYTHING!” He screams about food all the time. And when K won’t let me help him with something, even though I know if he gives me TWO minutes I can help him and prevent meltdown but he still won’t let me. And when the fight. And won’t go to bed at night. OK, so most of the day I’m struggling, but still I’ve come a long way 🙂

  5. I’m going to live in Deb’s fantasy wonderland 😉
    LOL

    Realistically, I’m another one of those impatient types. I work very hard, every day, on patience – exercising it, looking for more of it, reminding myself to be it… and it even works sometimes.

    Motherhood is a full time job. Homeschooling is a full time job – does that mean that moms who homeschool get two gold stars?? 😀
    ~h

Leave a Reply

