Our Learning Room

Of course, the kids can and do learn all over the house, and beyond, but this is our main Learning Room.  The maps and calendar are hung up higher than child-friendly height, but since we have a toddler, it’s necessary.  The little desk in the corner is a great place to spread out a project.

Below, shelves of books, activities and toys.  Each child has a stack on the upper shelf of games or puzzles that highlight the skills they are working on currently.  I also keep a stack of handwriting and math things there that I can easily grab.  Toys are on the lower shelves for my toddler.

This cabinet holds our seasonal books and not much else right now, as Love Bug likes to empty it out. On top of the cabinet is our toad habitat as well as my spinning organizer, which holds the books and supplies we are using for the week, some basic office supplies for me and extra file folder games and crafts, if one of the kids asks for more to do. Our white board is mostly used to hang things that we are currently working on from magnets.

Below, a low table is the perfect place for me to leave something out for Love Bug to discover each day.  On this particular day, it was our Aqua Doodle mat with a small bowl of water and a paint brush.

Our Learning Room is the formal dining room of our house, but we’ve always used it for the kids.  It started as our playroom before being transformed, a bit at a time, into our Learning Room.  We’ve now dedicated a corner off of the kitchen for some toys and the rest are down in the basement.  I rotate the toys from the basement periodically with the toys that are not being played with upstairs.

This entry was posted in Home Organization, homeschooling, keeping toddlers busy so you can actually educate your older children, Learning Spaces. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Our Learning Room

  1. Oh, I can not WAIT to move and have a room like this!!! I like your calendar. I got a weekly one, but I’m thinking I should have bought the monthly. Looks like a great sunny spot in your house!!

  2. Jessy says:

    How nice to have a Learning Room! We have a Learning Diningroom! LOL It works for us though! We had a school room in our last house and ALWAYS ended back at the diningroom table! So, in went the maps, books shelves, white board, globe, and art supplies. (We have a computer desk with more shelves and supplies in the kitchen.)

  3. Kathleen says:

    I love your Learning Room! And I might be a teeny-tiny bit jealous too! 🙂

  4. Thanks Kathleen and Jessy. We are so fortunate to have the space in this house. Our last house was teensy tiny. Thanks for stopping by my blog and thanks for your comments. 🙂

  5. Sarah says:

    Great room! It looks so nice and organized.

  6. That’s a really nice, bright learning space! I love seeing how other homeschooling families set their spaces up to be accessible to the kids and appealing to be in. It looks great! Thanks for sharing 🙂
    ~h

  7. If I had space for a learning room as awesome as that I think I would definitely homeschool 🙂

Leave a Reply

