I’m Starting The-Super-Busy-Mommy-Relaxation-Club. And You’re Invited.

One of the benefits of homeschooling is that I get to spend all day with my kids. One of the drawbacks of homeschooling is that I get to spend all day with my kids. I love them with every fiber of my being but at the end of the day my fibers just need to relax without someone asking me for a snack or needing help on the potty or having a fit because they can’t locate their light saber.

Sometimes I go out and run an errand after The Husband gets home, just so I can get a few moments of quiet. But some nights I am too tired, I don’t want to go out, I just want to lounge around in my comfy pants and read or do stuff on my computer or watch t.v. But I can’t do these things peacefully because even if I hide upstairs, my kids always find me. The Husband does his best to keep them occupied and respecting Mommy’s “me” time, but they track me like a pack of bloodhounds, no matter where I’m hiding. They’re stealthy, too, slipping past their father like ninjas and stealing quietly up the stairs. Ninja Bloodhounds, that’s what they are.

That’s when I came up with my great idea. Moms need a place to hang out that has the comforts of home but no one needs stuff from them. Picture it. A place you can go, like a restaurant, only better. You can show up in your pajamas and slippers, sit in a comfy chair with your laptop, make yourself a cup of tea or a cocktail. You can chat with the other mommies if you want to be social or go to a private area and talk to no one at all.

Everyone signs a pact when they join the Super Busy Mommy Relaxation Club (SBMRC) and agrees that it is unnecessary to refresh the day’s tired make-up or even run a brush through your hair before coming over. No one cares what you look like here. It’s not about that.

Hungry? Fix yourself a bowl of ice cream without the worry of some small person asking for a bowl also, but “not that kiiiiiiind of ice cream”, they “don’t liiiiiikkkkkeeeee that one ’cause it has nuuuuuuts in it”. No one will grab a spoon and dip it in your bowl, either. It’s all yours and you don’t even have to wash the bowl.

The SBMRC opens at dinnertime and stays open until at least 11 p.m. or whatever time there is no chance of your kids still being awake when you get home. We’ve got you covered, no matter how long you need to be here. Don’t worry, you can still gaze at your sleeping angels when you get home and, feeling refreshed and relaxed, kiss their sweet foreheads and then spend some time with your dear husband, the other person in your life that you never seem to have enough time for, besides yourself.

Did I mention there’s free wi-fi? And chocolate?

This entry was posted in humor, Moms need "me time". Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I’m Starting The-Super-Busy-Mommy-Relaxation-Club. And You’re Invited.

  1. Rivka says:

    I’m on my way RIGHT NOW.

  2. Rebecca says:

    Sign me up!

  3. Deb says:

    Where is this magical place and how do I get there?

  4. Jenny says:

    Coming out of lurkdom to say I’m in (I also have a 6 and 2 year old)!

  5. Oh my…that first liner is so my house. I LOVED…I mean, really LOVED…this post! And I SO wish this place existed. One other thing that would be part of this club…no mommy guilt for taking the time to veg whether with a book or in cyber world! Amen.

  6. Jessy says:

    I’m doing this tonight! LOL My husband is at work. My oldest is camping with the Boy Scouts. And the younger two are asleep. A couple of of hours of watching “America’s Funniest Videos” and reading Weekly Wrap-ups! LOL

  7. Penny says:

    What a cute idea! I loved the line where they are sneaking past dad like ninja bloodhounds! It was cute.

  8. Jessy says:

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting on S’s reading video!

  9. that would be heaven on earth lol. BT (before twins) when someone would ask what my perfect weekend would be I’d say Bermuda, etc. AT (after twins)? just me, internet, a bathtub for just me with bubbles and my kindle!

Leave a Reply

