Summer Fun at the Farm

Yesterday, we picked black raspberries and cherries under a beautiful blue sky…..

Although the kids began to wilt in the sun and fuss and whine on the dusty road with not enough shade.  “Too hot to stay at the farm.  Lets go home and make smoothies again.”

That seems to be our weekly ritual for the past three or four weeks, since we started going out to a local farm each week and getting some form of yummy fruit.

You can use any kind of fruit, and I have begun to sneak in some dark leafy greens, too, after hearing that tip from another mom on the way out to the strawberry picking fields one day.  Today we got Swiss chard with our weekly share of produce, but you could also use kale or spinach.  I  use different sweeteners, sometimes honey or sugar or stevia.  Or, if you have yogurt that’s already sweetened, you don’t need to add any extra sweetener at all.  Here’s the recipe for today’s smoothies:

Black Raspberry and Cherry Smoothie

1/2 cup black raspberries

1/2 cup cherries, pits removed

2 large leaves of Swiss Chard

1 cup plain yogurt

2 cups ice cubes

Sprinkle of Stevia

Then The Queen Bee and I made an amazingly delicious cherry pie, but it got mostly eaten before I thought to take a picture of it. It was amazing because neither of us had ever made a cherry pie before and I used parts of several different recipes I found on the internet. I’d find one and follow it until I ran into an ingredient I didn’t have or a task I wasn’t willing to do (refrigerate dough overnight. whaaaat?), then I’d google another recipe and start following that. So interestingly enough, this did yield an actual pie that tasted pretty darn good.

And The Queen Bee keeps saying, “Isn’t it so great that we made a pie, Mommy? Aren’t you so glad I helped?”

I am, I am. Baking with the QB is sweeter than pie.

This entry was posted in healthy living, homeschooling, summer fun. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Summer Fun at the Farm

  1. Oh how wonderful! We absolutely love the green smoothies. I use spinach mostly and mix all kinds of fruits. The kids love them and they are so very healthy. Thank you for sharing your moments!
    Liz

  2. Ha…I knew I was right! My hubby said we couldn’t use our swiss chard leaves in smoothies and such. But it’s like spinach I said…I am SO winning this argument later! Thanks for the recipe!

  3. Jessy says:

    Yummy! We have some kind of cherry here, but we haven’t been able to identify it. I wouldn’t want to eat them until then! LOL So for now…it’s wild bird food! Stopping in from Weekly Wrap-up!

  4. Love the smoothie recipe! Sounds delicious! I love making green smoothies. I just bought some popsicle molds so I can put some in the freezer,too.

    And that sounds so fun…going to different farms and picking fruit.

Leave a Reply

