Blueberry Pie or How to Make a Man Fall in Love With You

Oh my, I do believe I made a quite tasty blueberry pie, along with my new Pie Assistant, The Queen Bee.

“What does this have to do with homeschooling?”,  you ask.

Nothing.

“Isn’t this a homeschooling blog?”, you ask?

Yes.  But, we’re on summer break.

So we went out to the farm yesterday, the Creek Kids and I, and picked as many fresh blueberries as we could before they started to wilt in the heat (as per our usual fruit-picking procedure), then returned home and made blueberry smoothies, followed by a pie.

I use my Nana’s no-roll pie crust recipe. So easy. You press it into the pie pan. The kids can do it, it’s that easy.

Then I used her blueberry pie filling recipe.  This is the very same recipe that I used to get my husband to fall in love with me when we were long-distance dating.  At Thanksgiving, I made this pie for the very first time,  wrapped it in layers of foil and plastic wrap and put it in my carry-on bag, which somehow wound up several rows behind my seat on a very crowded plane.  When it was time to get off the plane, the other passengers very carefully handed this bag, containing the pie, down the rows, until it reached me. As each one handed it off to the next, they said, “Be careful. It’s a pie.” As I waited, I could hear these hushed tones:  “Be careful, it’s a pie.”  “Be careful, it’s a pie.

Finally, arriving at The Husband’s brother’s house, containing The Husband’s entire family, the pie was served after dinner.  By then, after it’s long jostling journey, it had become a cobbler. But it tasted good nonetheless.  So good, in fact, that the husband proclaimed that he had fallen even more in love with me.  Yes, we were already falling in love when I made that pie but the pie, I believe, sealed the deal. Three months later, we packed everything I owned into a U-Haul, my car in tow, my dog nestled between us and thus put an end to the long-distance part of our relationship. It was not long before we were engaged,  then married.

You see, I made that pie because The Husband (then known as The Boyfriend) said that blueberry pie was his most favorite kind of pie in the world.  This was a time, long ago, before email and the internet were part of everyday life, when we wrote actual letters sent via the actual U.S. Postal Service and made long distance phone calls, which cost by the minute.  Our phone bills nearly rivaled an average car payment, but it could not be helped.  It was love.

And here we are, seventeen years later and I’m standing in my kitchen with my daughter, making this same recipe with some berries so fresh, they’ve never even seen the inside of my refrigerator.

By the time the pie was baked and cooled, it was late in the evening. The kids and I, tired from the day’s activities, had gone to bed.

I was just dozing off when I heard my phone buzz with a text.  I picked it up.

The Husband: “Wow! I do believe that is the best berry pie I have ever had in my life!  Perfect, just perfect.”  See? He loves me.

The Recipe
(for an 8 inch pie)

No-roll, Press-in Pie Crust
1 3/4 c. flour
1/2 c oil
2 tbsps. milk
2 tbsps. sugar
pinch of salt

Filling
1 quart blueberries
3 heaping tablespoons tapioca
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
pinch of salt

Crumb Topping
3/4 cup flour
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup softened butter

Directions:
–To make filling, first soak tapioca in water to soften. Combine sugars and salt. Gently fold in blueberries. Before adding tapioca, make sure it is not rubbery. If so, add more water and mix, then fold into blueberry mixture. Let filling set for at least one hour.
–Make pie crust by mixing all ingredients together, form a ball of dough, press into pie pan. Set aside.
–When filling is done setting, pour filling into crust. Combine crumb topping ingredients. Sprinkle on top of pie. Cover pie with loose foil. Bake at 400 degrees for 35 minutes. Remove foil and bake for 5 minutes more or until crust is golden brown. Cool pie. Will gel upon standing.
–Serve pie. Graciously accept adoring compliments and proclamations of true love.

Linking up with…

Beneath the Rowan Tree

This entry was posted in family history, love, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blueberry Pie or How to Make a Man Fall in Love With You

  1. The Husband says:

    It is the best berry pie ever, and I do love you more! Perfect combination of sweetness and tart. I think it’s the fresh picked berries. Even fresh from a store, how old are they?

    Just think, if you tried to bring a pie after 9/11…

    Please try and save me a piece! 🙂

    Love,

    The man formerly known as The Boyfriend.

  2. Rivka says:

    Awww, what a wonderful sweet story.

  3. banbamama says:

    that is so sweet! the pie and the story 🙂 I love baking with my daughter, we have great conversations when we do it and my husband loves what we make. I always said the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach.

  4. Siggi says:

    Sounds like a perfect homeschooling day to me! Family history, baking, and love, all rolled into one!

Leave a Reply

