The Wonderful and the Awful

Amidst the celebration of the 4th of July weekend, we were reminded of how at any moment, someone who is living life to the fullest can be gone in an instant. A single phone call. Some terrible news.  My cousin passed away suddenly.

I had a wonderful blog post mostly ready to go, full of all the fun things we’ve been doing on our month off from school.  Things that involved swimming pools and summer carnivals and weekend trips to see family and friends.  But I couldn’t post all the cheery, happy things we’ve been doing when there is this heartbreaking shock that is permeating my extended family right now.

Life. Is. Precious.

Sometimes I learn that by loss and sorrow.

And sometimes I learn that in the joyful smile of my daughter as she splashes around in the pool, the deeply furrowed brow of my oldest son as he examines a firefly glowing on a summer night, the sweetness of my toddler, laying his head on my husband’s shoulder, seeking comfort.

Sometimes life is all mixed up with the wonderful and the awful.  This is what I’m thinking, as I tuck my kids in bed for the night, but then let the older two tip-toe back downstairs to see the 4th of July fireworks still going off around the neighborhood. Standing out in the driveway in their pajamas and bare feet, the fireworks light up their faces as they ooh and aah.  My daughter picks daisies in the dark and brings them to me.  “Flowers for you, Mommy.”  More good-night kisses and they scamper back upstairs.

Life. Is. Precious.

This entry was posted in family history, holidays, life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Wonderful and the Awful

  1. hornblower says:

    I’m sorry for your loss. 😦

  2. tlryder says:

    I’m very sorry for your loss. You’re so right. Life is beautiful and awful and a bunch of other things, sometimes all at the same time.

  3. Kat says:

    So sorry for your loss.

Leave a Reply

