December Printables and Activities

We are going to start this week off with The Gingerbread Man by Jim Aylesworth.

I made these picture cards:  

These are mainly sight words for my kindergarten-aged daughter but you can bet her older and younger brothers will want a turn with them, too.  They can take turns holding them up at the appropriate parts of the story, copying them onto paper and putting them in the order that they occur in the story.  You can download a pdf file of the gingerbread man picture cards to print.

We also plan to play a dice game, inspired by something similar that I saw on Pinterest.  I downloaded a large gingerbread man template  and made a few copies.  I wrote numbers on it to correspond with one die for my kindergartener and two dice for my 7 year old (he can add them together). First one to find all the numbers on their gingerbread man wins.

And then, we will do the most fun activity of all….make gingerbread cookies!

Here are some secular December vocabulary word cards that I made. My daughter loves these. We review them several times and then get more practice when the words come up in books that we read.  We say, “Hey, we know that word!”   She also likes to copy the words onto paper and to hang them on the wall as decorations.  You can download a pdf file of the December word cards and print them.

I also wanted to share something that we had great fun with last week.  I saw a Montessori present wrapping activity on Pinterest and got to work setting one up for my kids. They loved it! I don’t know why I didn’t think to take pictures. Anyway, it was a great way to show them how to wrap presents (without using massive amounts of tape), how to graciously give and receive presents and to remember to throw away the wrapping paper after opening. They can’t wait to wrap real presents now.

Do you notice how Pinterest has taken over my life inspired me to make so many things for my kids? Here are more things I’ve pinned that are Christmas related. Hoping to try a few more this month.

Linking up with:

abc button

This entry was posted in Christmas, Early Elementary Years, holidays, homeschooling, kindergarten, Montessori inspired, Printables, secular homeschooling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to December Printables and Activities

  1. Kylie says:

    Oh we will use those printables, thank you :0)

    I hope you will link them up over at Christmas Fun!

  2. Love the printables! I found your blog through Living Life Intentionally. To help a new homeschool mom out in my home learners group I am trying to gather as many blogs who create {Free} Printables. I have created a {Free} Printables Linky Party on my website to help her out. I would like to invite you to join us. Check it out at: http://www.raisingthecameronclan.com/homeschooling/2011/12/06/introducing-free-printables-linky-party/

    I love the snow on your blog!
    Aimee (Mommy Cameron | Raising the Cameron Clan)

  3. Beth says:

    Super fun & love that you are sharing what you made with everyone! I’ve seen the dice game pop up everywhere recently… I really MUST try it with my game loving kiddos too =-) Thanks for linking up to TGIF! See you next week,
    Beth =-)

  4. kthighKatie says:

    BA ha ha ha. Seriously, Pinterest is amazing and has taken over my life as well… 😉 These are great. Looks like SO much fun! Also, this would be perfect for my Linky Party- I’d also love for you to link up at Thrifty Thursday if you’d like! http://www.playingwithwords365.com/2011/12/thrifty-thursday-linky-party-2/

  5. Pingback: Preparing for the Season ~ Pinterest and Christmas « simply necessary

  6. Trina says:

    HI! Visiting from TGIF-Living life intentionally. I love the gingerbread printables. I will use them next week with our gingerbread theme. Thanks a ton!

  7. Cyndi says:

    Hey there! I’m visiting from TGIF Living Life Intentionally. We like the Gingerbread Man story a LOT. We are going to have to use the gingerbread printables before the year is over. Thanks so much! You can find me at wackycyndi.blogspot.com. I think I need to rename my webpage. Oh, and don’t apologize about the house being a wreck. I’m glad I’m not alone!

Leave a Reply

